The New Soft Riot album “When Push Comes To Shove” Out Now!

11 November 2019
Soft Riot | When Push Comes To Shove (PSSN04) | Cover
Tags: , , , , , , , ,
“When Push Comes To Shove”
The seventh album by SOFT RIOT
Available in LP, CD and Digital


Resonating with references from all corners of the synthpop’s origins, Soft Riot’s latest release nonetheless manages to retain its own individual voice, melding and reinterpreting its antecedents with a personal twist and an impressive demonstration of synth-craft and programming. Following on from 2018’s The Outsider in the Mirrors, these eight tracks represent a change in themes and an evolution in production and sound.

The forthcoming single and album opener “Taking The Edge Off” sets out the Soft Riot manifesto, a propulsive future-synth tale of forging ever-forwards in an increasingly noisy world. “It’s No Laughing Matter” is a hedonistic yet propulsive dance-floor slammer — shades of minimal synth and metallic Belgian new beat condense in side one closer “Fate’s Got A Bone To Pick With You” and the dizzying italo-matic muscle workout “Don’t Get Yourself Bent Out Of Shape” is the ultimate self-help smack down.

This revision in JJD’s approach also impacts on the thematics of his writing. As JJD says himself “I feel real life over this decade has gotten a bit stranger than fiction” — speculative preoccupations of isolation and paranoia have taken on a more personal dimension in his lyrics. There’s tales of alien visitors who fall to the trappings and joys of humanity while on a mission (“By The Skin Of Your Teeth”) to topics less cosmic and more close to home, such as the uplifting emotions one feels within a gathering of friends with the third track, “The Lost Weekend”.

The album is available in a number of packages:

  • 12″ LP (plus free sticker)
  • Digipak CD (plus free sticker)
  • 12″ LP + “Ghost Marble” T-Shirt
  • Digipak CD + “Ghost Marble” T-Shirt
  • “Voidamol Voyager” LP Pack (12″ LP, “Ghost Marble” T-Shirt, Voidamol Travel Tin Pack, Sticker + Square Badge)
  • “Voidamol Voyager” CD Pack (Digipak CD, “Ghost Marble” T-Shirt, Voidamol Travel Tin Pack, Sticker + Square Badge)

Read more about this release here.

This album is available through the Possession Records store and a growing list of distributors worldwide. Check the Possession Records info page for more details.